Scientific staff

Univ.-Prof.
DDr. Andreas Wanninger

Lophotrochozoan MorphoEvoDevo
Marine invertebrates group

room: 4.049
phone: +43 1 4277 76300
mobile: +43 664 60277 76300
andreas.wanninger@univie.ac.at

Ao. Univ.-Prof.
Mag. Dr. Harald W. Krenn

Insect funtional morphology

Terrestrial arthropods group

room: 4.045
phone: +43 1 4277 76368
mobile: +43 664 60277 76368
harald.krenn@univie.ac.at


Andrew Calcino, PhD

Molecular EvoDevo of bivalve mollusks
Marine invertebrates group

room: 4.042
phone: +43 1 4277 76321
andrew.calcino@univie.ac.at

Dr. 
Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn

Biology of alpine insects

Terrestrial arthropods group

room: 4.048
phone: +43 1 4277 76362
mobile: +43 664 60277 76362
barbara-amina.gereben@univie.ac.at

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Andrea Möller
Head of the Austrian Educational Competence Centre Biology
(AECC Biology)
Science education

room: 201, Porzellangasse 4/2
phone: +43-1-4277-603 10
mobile: +43-664-60277-60310
andrea.moeller@univie.ac.at

PD Dr. Thomas Schwaha
Evolutionary zoology of various animal phyla with focus on bryozoans, microscopy and imaging
Marine invertebrates group

room: 4.047
phone: +43 1 4277 76316
thomas.schwaha@univie.ac.at

Dr. Elisabeth Zieger
Evolution and development of invertebrate nervous systems

Marine invertebrates group

room: 4.047
phone: +43 1 4277 76330
elisabeth.zieger@univie.ac.at


Postdocs

Dr. Ahmed Saadi
Phylactolaemate phylogenomics

Marine invertebrates group

room: 4.052
phone: +43 1 4277 76319
ahmed.saadi@univie.ac.at


Technical staff

Mag. Christian Baranyi
DNA and RNA lab,
sequencing service

room: 4.051
phone: +43 1 4277 76329
christian.baranyi@univie.ac.at

Julia Bauder, PhD
Histology


room: 4.051
phone: +43 1 4277 76366
julia.bauder@univie.ac.at

Iljia I. Bründl-Tschulenk
Immunocytochemistry lab

room: 4.050
phone: +43 1 4277 76373
ingrid.bruendl-tschulenk@univie.ac.at

Nadja Hattinger
Labware, lab hygiene and animal care 

room: 4.050
phone: +43 1 4277 76311
nadja.hattinger@univie.ac.at

Mag. Martin Hepner
Teaching media,
multiple choice exams

room: 4.051
phone: +43 1 4277 76364
martin.hepner@univie.ac.at

Mag. Sonja Matuš
IT management,
system administrator and webmaster

room: 4.050
phone: +43 1 4277 76372
mobile: +43 664 60277 76372
sonja.matus@univie.ac.at

Anita Morth
Secretary

room: 4.008
phone: +43 1 4277 76301
fax: +43 1 4277 876301
anita.morth@univie.ac.at

Doris Nemeth
Secretary

room: 4.008
phone: +43 1 4277 76302
fax: +43 1 4277 876302
doris.nemeth@univie.ac.at

AR Dr. Livia Rudoll
Histology lab and lab safety

room: 4.042
phone: +43 1 4277 50014
livia.rudoll@univie.ac.at

Mag. Marion Wanninger
Lab Technician 

room: 4.042
phone: +43 1 4277 76309
marion.wanninger@univie.ac.at


Lecturers


Teaching assistants

Jakob Eggenhofer
Teaching Assistant
Bee.Ed Forschungs- und Lehrbienenstand AECC Biologie

Science education

jakob.eggenhofer@univie.ac.at


Associated researchers

Dr. Nesrine Akkari
Curator of Myriapoda Collection
Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

nesrine.akkari@nhm-wien.ac.at

Dr. Ulrike Aspöck
Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R.
Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

ulrike.aspoeck@nhm-wien.ac.at

Yurii Kornilev, MSc
Amphibian and reptilian conservation, ecophysiology, and ecology.
PhD candidate at Natural History Museum-Sofia

yurii.kornilev@univie.ac.at

Dr. Anton Lamboj

anton.lamboj@univie.ac.at

 

 

Dipl.-Ing. Mag. Dr. Michael Seiter
Behavior, Functional Morphology, Systematics and Evolution of Pedipalpi (Amblypygi, Uropygi). Life History, Taxonomy and Biogeography of Scorpiones.

michael.seiter@univie.ac.at

Priv.-Doz. Dr. habil. Frank Emmanuel Zachos
Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

phone: +43 1 52177 550
fax: +43 1 52177 234
frank.zachos@nhm-wien.ac.at

Dr. Klaus Peter Zulka
Environment Agency Austria

phone: +43 1 31304 3391
klaus.peter.zulka@univie.ac.at


Staff alumni

Dr. Helge Hilgers
Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R.

helge.hilgers@univie.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Walter Hödl
Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R.

phone: +43 1 4277 76350
walter.hoedl@univie.ac.at

Dr. Helmut Kratochvil
Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R.

phone: +43 1 4277 76328
helmut.kratochvil@univie.ac.at

Dr. Günther Pass
Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R.

phone: +43 1 4277 76371
guenther.pass@univie.ac.at

Dr. Hannes Paulus
emer. o. Univ.- Prof.

room: 4.037
phone: +43 1 4277 76317
fax: +43 1 4277 876317
hannes.paulus@univie.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Manfred G. Walzl
Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R.

manfred.walzl@univie.ac.at


PhD students

Mag. Alexander Böhm

Photoreception and circadian rhythm entrainment in basal hexapods.
Advisor: Günther Pass

a.boehm@univie.ac.at

Julian Bibermair, MSc

Embryonic development of phylactolaemate bryozoans 
Advisor: Thomas Schwaha

room: 4.052
phone: +43 1 4277 76314
julian.bibermair@univie.ac.at

Sebastian Decker, MSc

Life cycle and systematics of boring bryozoans.
Advisor: Thomas Schwaha

room: 4.052
phone: +43 1 4277 76315
sebastian.decker@univie.ac.at

Margret Eckhard, MSc

Characterisation of defense secretions of centipedes
Advisors: Andreas Wanninger, Janek von Byern

room: 4.053
phone: +43 1 4277 76343
margret.eckhard@univie.ac.at

Sophie Greistorfer, MSc

Glowing mucus – Characterisation of the unique defence secretion of Latia neritoides (Gastropoda)
Advisors: Gerhard Steiner, Janek von Byern

room: 4.053
phone: +43 1 4277 76342
sophie.greistorfer@univie.ac.at

Mildred Johnson, MSc

Life cycle and systematics of boring bryozoans.
Advisor: Thomas Schwaha

room: 4.052
phone: +43 1 4277 76318
mildred.johnson@univie.ac.at

Susanne Reier, MSc

Genetic variation of small cyprinids in the karst area
Advisor: Luise Kruckenhauser

susanne.reier@nhm-wien.ac.at

Sonia Victoria Rodríguez Monje, MSc

EvoDevo of Molluscs
Advisor: Andreas Wanninger

sonja.rodrigues@univie.ac.at

David Salamanca, MSc

Hox gene expression in the zebra mussel Dreissena.
Advisor:  Andreas Wanninger

room: 4.053
david.salamanca@univie.ac.at

Mag. Katharina Wechselberger

Analysis of the main factors influencing the behavior of wireworms (Coleoptera: Elateridae) as a basis for the optimization of available crop protection measures on arable land.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Congratulations!

Mag. Sandra Kirchner
u:docs stipendiat

Shedding light on the evolution of an enigmatic fish. Comparative analyses of cavernicolous and surface-dwelling populations of Garra barreimiae
Advisors: Harald Krenn, Luise Kruckenhauser (NHM)
Abstract

sandra.kirchner@nhm-wien.ac.at

PhD Defensio - Thursday, June 18th 2020


Master students

Klara Amplatz BSc
Tyrosinated tubulin and serotonin immunoreactive components in neurogenesis of the upside down jellyfish Cassiopea xamachana 
Advisor: Andreas Wanninger

room: 4.040

Stephan Barton BSc
Morphology of the proboscis of the Corethrellidae
Advisor: Harald Krenn

room: 4.040

Iulia Barutia BSc
Appendage regeneration in the house centipede Scutigera coleoptrata
Advisors: Andy Sombke, Thomas Schwaha, Oleg Simakov

room: 4.040
iulia.barutia@univie.ac.at

Anna Ennsgraber BEd
Funktionsmorphologische Untersuchung der Mundwerkzeuge heimischer Wildbienen
Advisor: Harald Krenn

room: 4.040

Stefanie Gruber BEd
Thoraxtemperatur bei Tagfaltern
Advisor: Harald Krenn

room: 4.040

Nikolaus Helmer BSc
Scaphopod phylogenetics
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

nikolaus.helmer@univie.ac.at

David Koller BSc
Gene Expression in Cephalopod Eyes
Advisor: Tim Wollesen

room: 4.040
a01501794@unet.univie.ac.at

Mag. Philipp Maier
Morphology of the proboscis of Manduca sexta
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Simone Raus BSc
Reproduction biology of trochid gastropods.
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

a00903719@unet.univie.ac.at

Dominik Reischl BSc
Circulatory organs in the cerci of polyneopteran insects.
Advisor: Günther Pass

Seyedeh Saghar Sadraei BSc
The expression of anterior nervous system markers in the chaetognath Spadella cephaloptera
Advisor: Tim Wollesen

room: 4.040
a01468428@unet.univie.ac.at

Bianca Sandgruber BSc
Schalenmorphologie bei Scaphopoda (Mollusca)
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

Thomas Starkmann BSc
The Swifts in Vienna.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

thomas.starkmann@gmail.com

Magdalena Weiler BSc
Butterfly monitoring in Vienna 2020
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Congratulations!

Kenneth Kuba BSc
Liquid uptake in eusocial Vespidae (Hymenoptera): The morphology and function of the mouthparts and the preoral cavity
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Master's Defensio - Thursday, August 12th 2021

Zita Roithmair BSc
Morphology and diversity of sexual dimorphic characters of the ultimate legs in selected lithobiomorph centipedes (Myriapoda, Chilopoda, Lithobiomorpha)
Advisors: Andreas Wanninger und Nesrine Akkari

Master's Defensio - Thursday, July 29th 2021

Caroline Reinwald BSc
A new piercing proboscis? Comparison of the feeding apparatus of Acherontia atropos and Agrius convolvuli (Lepidoptera)
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Master's Defensio - Thursday, July 22nd 2021

Johannes Buchner BSc
Analysis of the aquatic and semiaquatic Coleoptera and Heteroptera in the Naturschutzgebiet "Hörbranzer Schmelzwiese" (Vorarlberg).
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Master's Defensio - Friday, June 18th 2021
Abstract

Katharina Frick BEd
Zoological identification courses at university: modified teaching design enhances learning success of student teachers
Advisors: Harald Krenn, Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn

Master's Defensio - Thursday, April 29th 2021

Karoline Bürger BSc
Population Structure and Activity Pattern in a Dalmatian Tortoise (Testudo hermanni hercegovinensis) Population
Advisor: Walter Hödl
Abstract

Master's Defensio - Monday, April 12th 2021

Stephan Schulreich BSc
Mesoderm and muscle formation in the quagga mussel, Dreissena rostriformis (Deshayes, 1838)
Advisor: Andreas Wanninger
Abstract

Master's Defensio - Tuesday, March 23rd 2021

Andreas Löscher BSc
Comparative analysis of the male reproductive system in whip spiders.
Advisors: Harald Krenn, Michael Seiter & Thomas Schwaha
Abstract

Master's Defensio - Thursday, February 18th 2021

Oliver Macek BSc
Integrative taxonomy: optimized DNA-Barcoding-protocol improves species identification in Central European pill millipedes (Glomerida)
Advisor: Günther Pass
Abstract

Master's Defensio - Monday, December 7th 2020

Mag. Silvia Steiner
Butterfly monitoring in Vienna.
Advisor: Harald Krenn
Abstract

Diplomprüfung - Thursday, September 15th 2020

Mag. Franziska Puhm
Tagfalter-Monitoring in Wien 2018.
Advisors: Harald Krenn, Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn
Abstract

Diplomprüfung - Thursday, July 30th 2020

Attila Sachslehner MSc
Expression of HES and Mox genes in a polyplacophoran mollusc: New insights into genetic regulation of molluscan mesoderm development.
Advisor: Andreas Wanninger
Abstract

Master's Defensio - Wednesday, May 27th 2020

Sarah Chaloupka MSc
Is there personality in Allobates femoralis.
Advisors: Walter Hödl, Eva Ringler

Master's Defensio - Wednesday, April 22nd 2020

Mag. Simone Jaritz
Biologische Phänomene im den Marchauen - Freilanddidaktische Informationstafeln.
Advisor: Walter Hödl

Diplomprüfung - Thursday, April 16th 2020

Jakob Prömer MSc
The nervous system of cheilostome byrozoans
Advisors: Thomas Schwaha, Andy Sombke
Abstract

Master's Defensio - Wednesday, March 25th 2020

Mag. Christine Szumovski
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Diplomprüfung - Wednesday, 25th March 2020

Mag. Patrick Fahser
Lucanus cervus in Vorarlberg: distribution and development of a Citizen Science Project.
Advisors: Günther Pass

Diplomprüfung - Friday, March 13th 2020

Mag. Lisa Liska
Verbreitung und Ökologie der beiden nah verwandten Orthopteren-Arten Barbitistes constrictus und Barbitistes serricauda im Kamptal, NÖ (Orthoptera: Phaneropteridae).
Advisors: Harald Krenn, Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn

Diplomprüfung - Friday, March 13th 2020

Mag. Lisa Reiss
Verbreitung und Ökologie der Nadelholz-Säbelschrecke Barbitistes constrictus im laubholzdominierten Nationalpark Thayatal, NÖ (Orthoptera: Phaneropteridae) Advisors: Harald Krenn, Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn

Diplomprüfung - Friday, March 13th 2020