Logo der Universität Wien

People


Scientific Staff

Univ.-Prof. DDr. Andreas Wanninger
Head of the Department of Integrative Zoology
Reconstruction of neuromuscular anatomy, neurogenesis, and myogenesis in invertebrates (especially lophotrochozoans); Molluscan evolutionary developmental biology; the origins of Bilateria; the evolution of neural and behavioural complexity

room: 1.065
phone: +43 1 4277 76300
mobile: +43 664 60277 76300
mail: andreas.wanninger@univie.ac.at

Ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Harald Krenn
Vice Head of the Department of Integrative Zoology
Director of Study Program in "Biologie und Umweltkunde - Lehramt"
Functional morphology of insects

room: 3.019
phone: +43 1 4277 76368
mobile: +43 664 60277 76368
fax: +43 1 4277 876368
mail: harald.krenn@univie.ac.at

Andrew Calcino PhD
Molecular EvoDevo of bivalve mollusks.
Researchgroup Andreas Wanninger

room: 1.049
phone: +43 1 4277 76322
mail: andrew.calcino@univie.ac.at

Dr. Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn
Senior Lecturer
Biology of alpine insects

room: 3.016
phone: +43 1 4277 76362
fax: +43 1 4277 876362
mail: barbara-amina.gereben@univie.ac.at

Dr. Thomas Schwaha
Microscopy and Imaging

room: 1.067
phone: +43 1 4277 76316
fax: +43 1 4277 876316
mail: thomas.schwaha@univie.ac.at

Ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gerhard Steiner

room: 2.049
phone: +43 1 4277 76347
fax: +43 1 4277 876347
mail: gerhard.steiner@univie.ac.at

 

Dr. Elisabeth Zieger
Evolution and development of invertebrate nervous systems

room: 1.070
phone: +43 1 4277 76318
fax: +43 1 4277 8763xx
mail: elisabeth.zieger@univie.ac.at

Retired Scientific Staff

Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R. Dr. Helge Hilgers 

room: 1.050
phone: +43 1 4277 76310
fax: +43 1 4277 876310
mail: helge.hilgers@univie.ac.at

Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R. Mag. Dr. Walter Hödl

room: 2.082
phone: +43 1 4277 76350
fax: +43 1 4277 876350 
mail: walter.hoedl@univie.ac.at

Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R. Dr. Helmut Kratochvil
Zoo biology; bio-acoustics; fish biology - communication, ecology, anatomy; development of innovative measurement and registration methods

room: 3.015
phone: +43 1 4277 76328
fax: +43 1 4277 876328
mail: helmut.kratochvil@univie.ac.at

Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R. Dr. Günther Pass
Morphology, molecules and phylogeny in arthropods 

room: 3.021
phone: +43 1 4277 76371
fax: +43 1 4277 876371
mail: guenther.pass@univie.ac.at

emer. o. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Hannes F. Paulus
Pollination biology in orchids, speciation prozesses and co-evolution

room: 1.068
phone: +43 1 4277 76317
fax: +43 1 4277 876317
mail: hannes.paulus@univie.ac.at

Ao. Univ.-Prof. i.R. Mag. Dr. Manfred G. Walzl

room: 1.067
phone: +43 1 4277 76304
fax: +43 1 4277 876304
mail: manfred.walzl@univie.ac.at


Technical Staff

Ursula Adelpoller
Labware and Lab Hygiene

room: 2.085a
phone: +43 1 4277 76311
fax: +43 1 4277 876311
mail: ursula.adelpoller@univie.ac.at

Sihana Balazhi BSc. 
Lab Technician (leave cover)

room: 1.062
phone: +43 1 4277 76314
mail: sihana.balazhi@univie.ac.at

Mag. Christian Baranyi
DNA & RNA Lab
Sequencing Service

room: 1.064
phone:+43 1 4277 76329
mail: christian.baranyi@univie.ac.at

Julia Bauder PhD
Semi- and Ultrathinsectioning

room: 3.018
phone: +43 1 4277 76366
fax: +43 1 4277 876366
mail: julia.bauder@univie.ac.at

Iljia I. Bründl-Tschulenk
Immunocytochemistry Lab

room: 3.023
phone: +43 1 4277 76373
fax: +43 1 4277 876373
mail: ingrid.bruendl-tschulenk@univie.ac.at

Mag. Martin Hepner

room: 3.017
phone: +43 1 4277 76364 
fax: +43 1 4277 76364 
mail: martin.hepner@univie.ac.at

Franz Hochstöger
Teaching Infrastructure

room: 1.016A
phone: +43 1 4277 76303
fax: +43 1 4277 76303
mail: franz.hochstoeger@univie.ac.at
homepage: http://homepage.univie.ac.at/franz.hochstoeger/

Kesiban Karasungur
Lab Technician
HRSM-Project: Austrian Barcode of Life (ABOL). Evertebrata varia.

room: 2.034
phone: +43 1 4277 76343
mail: kesiban.karasungur@univie.ac.at

Mag. Sonja Matuš
IT Management and System Administration

room: 3.022
phone: +43 1 4277 76372
fax: +43 1 4277 876372
mobil: +43 664 60277 76372
mail: sonja.matus@univie.ac.at

Anita Morth
Secretary

room: 1.017
phone: +43 1 4277 76301
fax: +43 1 4277 876301
mail: anita.morth@univie.ac.at

Doris Nemeth
Secretary

room: 1.016
phone: +43 1 4277 76302
fax: +43 1 4277 876302
mail: doris.nemeth@univie.ac.at

AR Dr. Livia Rudoll
Histology Lab and Lab Safety

room: 1.051
phone: +43 1 4277 76312
fax: +43 1 4277 876312
mail: livia.rudoll@univie.ac.at

Mag. Marion Wanninger
Lab Technician (currently on leave)

room: 1.062
phone: +43 1 4277 76309
mail: marion.wanninger@univie.ac.at


PostDocs

Florian Karolyi PhD
Ecomorphology of long-proboscid flies in South Africa.
Researchgroup Harald Krenn

room: 3.018
phone: +43 1 4277 76367  
mail: florian.karolyi@univie.ac.at

Mag. Emanuel Redl
Integrative developmental studies on basal molluscs.
Advisor:  Andreas Wanninger

room: 1.064
phone: +43 1 4277 76327
mail: emanuel.redl@univie.ac.at

 

Dr. Eva Ringler
Researchgroup: Walter Hödl

room: 2.086
phone: +43 1 4277 76353
email: eva.ringler@univie.ac.at

homepage: http://homepage.univie.ac.at/eva.ringler/

Max Ringler PhD
Researchgroup: Walter Hödl

room: 2.086
phone: +43 1 4277 76353
mail: max.ringler@univie.ac.at

Dr. Tim Wollesen

room: 1.048
phone: +43 1 4277 76313
fax: +43 1 4277 876313
mail: tim.wollesen@univie.ac.at

PhD Students

Mag. Daniela Bartel
Phylogenomics and the most ancient splits in insect phylogeny.
Advisor: Günther Pass

room: 3.020
phone: +43 1 4277 76370
mail: daniela.bartel@univie.ac.at

Mag. Alexander Böhm
Photoreception and circadian rhythm entrainment in basal hexapods.
Advisor: Günther Pass

room: 3.020
phone: +43 1 4277 76370
mail: a.boehm@univie.ac.at

André Luiz de Oliveira, MSc
Comparative transcriptomics in Mollusca.
Advisor: Andreas Wanninger

room: 1.049
phone: +43 1 4277 76322
email: andre.luiz.de.oliveira@univie.ac.at

Anne-Sarah Ganske MSc
Lithobius: a big genus of a small subphylum (Myriapoda) - phylogeny and evolutionary history
Advisors: Andreas Wanninger, Nesrine Akkari (Naturhistorisches Museum Wien)

Mag. Herbert Gasser
Reliability of the advertisement call in the dendrobatid frog Allocates femoralis.
Advisor: Walter Hödl

room: 2.084 
phone: +43 1 4277 50008
mail: herbert.gasser@univie.ac.at

Mag. Sandra Kirchner
u:docs stipendiat
Bringing light into the evolution of an enigmatic fish. Comparative analyses of cavernicolous and surface dwelling populations of Garra barreimiae.
Advisors: Harald Krenn, Luise Kruckenhauser (Naturhistorisches Museum Wien)

Mag. Demetra Rakosy
Phylogenetic relationships and pollinator driven speciation patterns in the Mediterranean Ophrys tenthredinifera complex (Orchidaceae)
Advisor: Hannes Paulus

room: 3.015
phone: +43 1 4277 76360
mail: metarakosy@yahoo.de

Sonia Victoria Rodríguez Monje MSc
EvoDevo of Molluscs
Advisor: Andreas Wanninger

room: 1.070
phone: +43 1 4277 76318
email: sonia.rodriguez@univie.ac.at

David Salamanca MSc
Hox gene expression in the zebra mussel Dreissena.
Advisor:  Andreas Wanninger

room: 1.070
phone: +43 1 4277 76318
mail: dasalam42@gmail.com

Dipl. Biol. Maik Scherholz
Neuromuscular development in Solenogastres (Mollusca).
Advisor:  Andreas Wanninger

room: 1.070
phone: +43 1 4277 76318
mail: maik.scherholz@univie.ac.at

Mag. Harald Singer
Small breeding cells in honeybee - a possible way to overcome the Varroa crises ? An experimental approach.
Advisor: Hannes Paulus

mail: singer.harald@aon.at

Mag. Iris Starnberger
The role of the vocal sac in multimodal signaling - an explorative study in African reed frogs (Anura - Hyperoliidae)
Advisor: Walter Hödl

room: 2.085 right
phone: +43 1 4277 76354
mail: iris.starnberger@univie.ac.at

Mag. Kerstin Stejskal
Die Funktion von Lippenmuster in der Bestäuberanlockung bei Sexualtäuschorchideen
Advisor: Hannes F. Paulus, Johannes Spaethe

room: 3.018
phone: +43 1 4277 76367
mail: kerstin.stejskal@univie.ac.at

Mag. Katharina Wechselberger
Analysis of the main factors influencing the behavior of wireworms (Coleoptera: Elateridae) as a basis for the optimization of available crop protection measures on arable land.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Master Students

Clara-Sophie Bader
Composition of the cuticle of the proboscis of butterflies.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

room: 3.015
phone: +43 1 4277 76360
mail: a0525790@univie.ac.at

Julian Bibermair
Reproduction & Ecology of trochid gastropods.
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

romm: 2.034
phone: +43 1 4277 76343

mail: a1100885@unet.univie.ac.at

Valentin Blüml
Nahrungsaufnahme-Mechanismen bei der Dreikiel-Schanierschildkröte Cuora mouhotii (Gray 1862).
Advisor: Christian Beisser

room: 1.072
phone: +43 1 4277 76305
mail: valentin.blueml@hotmail.com

Karoline Bürger 
The importance of individual and habitat characteristics on habitat use in Dalmatian tortoises.
Advisor: Walter Hödl

mail: karoline.buerger@gmx.at

Stephan Burgstaller
Estimation of Population Size and Migratory activity of Salamandra salamandra - Research Site: Neuwaldegg.
Advisors: Walter Hödl, Max Ringler

Clemens Brenner
Antennal Hearts of Diptera
Advisor: Günther Pass

room: 3.024
phone: +43 1 4277 76374
mail: brenner.clemens@gmail.com

Sarah Chaloupka
Is there personality in Allobates femoralis.
Advisors: Walter Hödl, Eva Ringler

room: 2.086
phone: +43 1 4277 76353
mail: a1306317@unet.univie.ac.at

Sebastian Decker
The unusual life cycle of Pherusella cf. brevituba.
Advisors: Thomas Schwaha, Andreas Wanninger

room: 2.034
phone: +43 1 4277 76343
mail: a01004789@unet.univie.ac.at

Patrick Fahser
Lucanus cervus in Vorarlberg: distribution and development of a Citizen Science Project.
Advisor: Günther Pass

mail: a1125499@unet.univie.ac.at

Marie-Therese Fischer, PhD
Female spatial behaviour in Allobates femoralis.
Advisors: Walter Hödl, Eva & Max Ringler

room: 2.086
phone: +43 1 4277 76353
mail: M-T@gmx.at

Sabine Hindinger
Berthold Hatscheks Osteologische Forschungen.
Advisor: Manfred Walzl

mail: sabine.hindinger@gmx.at

Andrea Jäger
New Design, New Signs - Signage about Austrian reptiles, amphibians and mammals in the Blumengärten Hirschstetten.
Advisor: Helmut Kratochvil

mail: and_jaeger@yahoo.de

Christina Kaurin
The Morphology of the feeding apparatus in Aphanius.
Advisor: Christian Beisser

mail: t.kaurin@aon.at

Lena Kiermayr
Analysis of the behavioural mother-cub relationsship of the Giant Panda (Ailuropoda melanoleuca) in captivity.
Advisor: Helmut Kratochvil

mail: lena.kiermayr@gmx.at

Sabine Klymkiw
Organogenesis in the budding process of fredericellid and plumatellid Bryozoa.
Advisors: Thomas Schwaha, Andreas Wanninger

room: 2.034
phone: +43 1 4277 76343
mail: klymkiw.s@gmail.com

Stephanie Kunisch
Die Anatomie des Nahrungsaufnahme-Apparates bei Calyptocephalella gayi.
Advisor: Patrick Lemell

room: 1.062
phone: +43 1 4277 76314
mail: stephanie.kunisch@gmail.com

Judith Kregl
3D-Rekonstruktion der Antennenherzen und assoziierter Muskulatur ausgesuchter Neuropterida.
Advisor: Günther Pass

phone: +43 1 4277 76374
mail: a0501895@unet.univie.ac.at

Elena Kriegl
E-Learning und partizipative Lehr- und Lernkonzepte bei "Morphologie der Tiere" - ein hochschuldidaktisches Konzept.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

room: 3.015
phone: +43 1 4277 76360
mail: a1109097@unet.univie.ac.at

Saskia Krüger
Feeding in Ambystoma dumerilii (Salamandroidea, Amphibia).
Advisors: Christian Beisser

room: 1.062
phone: +43 1 4277 76314
mail: krueger.saskia@gmx.at

Ulrich Kurrle
Morphometrie von Scaphopodenschalen (Mollusca) als Werkzeug zur Artbestimmung
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

phone: +43 1 4277 76343
mail: a0509934@unet.univie.ac.at

Lisa Liska
Biologie und Ökologie der beiden nahverwandten Orthopteren-Arten Barbitistes constrictus und Barbitistes serricauda im Nationalpark Kamptal.
Advisor: Harald Krenn, Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn

room: 3.024
phone: +43 1 4277 76374
mail: a0273249@unet.univie.ac.at

Oliver Macek
Barcoding bei Myriapoda
Advisor: Günther Pass

phone: +43 1 4277 76370
mail: a0807806@unet.univie.ac.at

Rosanna Mangione
Anti-predator behaviour in the dendrobatid frog Allobates femoralis.
Advisor: Walter Hödl, Eva Ringler

room: 2.086
phone: +43 1 4277 76353
mail: rosanna.mangione@gmail.com

Elisabeth Pinterich
Functional morphology of the proboscis of tropical butterflies.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

room: 3.015
phone: +43 1 4277 76360
mail: a1101425@unet.univie.ac.at

Philipp Pröts
Life in a tube: Morphology of the ctenostome Hypopharella expansa.
Advisors: Thomas Schwaha, Andreas Wanninger

room: 2.034
phone: +43 1 4277 76343
mail: pproets@gmail.com

Dominik Reischl
Circulatory organs in the cerci of polyneopteran insects.
Advisor: Günther Pass

room: 3.020
phone: +43 1 4277 76370
mail: fam.reischl@gmx.at

Lisa Reiss
Biologie und Ökologie der beiden nahverwandten Orthopteren-Arten Barbitistes constrictus und Barbitistes serricauda im Nationalpark Thayatal
Advisor: Harald Krenn, Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn

room: 3.024
phone: +43 1 4277 76374
mail: a1040498@unet.univie.ac.at

Sarah Saadain
The power of attraction: Effects of artificial lighting on nocturnal Lepidoptera.
Advisors: Harald Krenn, Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn

room: 
phone: 
mail: sarah.saadain@univie.ac.at

Bianca Sandgruber
Schalenmorphologie bei Scaphopoda (Mollusca)
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

phone: +43 1 4277 76343
mail: uni.email@gmx.at

Lisa-Maria Schmidt
Vertical zonation of trochid gastropods in the Northern Adriatic Sea.
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

romm: 2.034
phone: +43 1 4277 76343

mail: lisamaria.schmidt@gmx.net

Sabine Schoder
Feeding preferences of four closely related Hylaeus species (Dentigera) on an abandoned train station in Vienna.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

room: 3.024
phone: +43 1 4277 76374
mail: sabineschoder@gmx.at

Markus Sehnal
Feldbestimmungsschlüssel der Kurzfühler-Heuschrecken Österreichs.
Advisors: Barbara Amina Gereben-Krenn, Harald Krenn

room: 3.015
phone: +43 1 4277 76360
mail: markus.sehnal@gmail.com

Ria Sonnleitner
The interplay between precision and aggression during male-male competition in Allobates femoralis.
Advisors: Eva Ringler

Room: 2.086
phone: +43 1 4277 76353
email: ria.sonnleitner@gmail.com

Sandra Spring, BSc
The Role of olfaction for exploring novel reproductive ressources.
Advisors: Eva Ringler

Room: 2.086
phone: +43 1 4277 76353
email: a1102175@unet.univie.ac.at

Thomas Starkmann
The Swifts in Vienna.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

mail: thomas.starkmann@gmail.com

Jolanda Steininger
Schwimmfähigkeit alpiner Nebria-Arten
Advisor: Harald Krenn

phone: +43 1 4277 76360
mail: jolanda.steininger@univie.ac.at

Susanne Stückler, BSc
Timing of courtship, mating and oviposition in Allobates femoralis.
Advisors: Walter Hödl, Max Ringler

room: 2.086
phone: +43 1 4277 76353
mail: susi.stueckler@gmail.com

Nicole Teufl
Bumblebee populations in intensively-used agricultural landscapes in the Weinviertel and Waldviertel of lower Austria.
Advisor: Hannes Paulus

mail: a0045041@unet.univie.ac.at

Magdalena Christine Weiler
Population genetics of groundwater copepods.
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

romm: 2.034
phone: +43 1 4277 76343

mail: magdalena.weiler@yahoo.de

Steffen Weinlein, BSc
Transport der Allobates femoralis Larven durch Weibchen in natürlicher Umgebung.
Advisors: Walter Hödl, Eva Ringler, Max Ringler

Maria Wielscher
Außerschulischer Lernort "Lebensraum Alpen": Konzept für eine Projektarbeit für die Sekundarstufe.
Advisors: Barbara-Amina Gereben-Krenn, Harald Krenn

room: 3.024
phone: +43 1 4277 76374
mail: mariedl.wielscher@gmail.com

Teaching Assistants

Clara-Sophie Bader
Teaching Assistant

room: 3.015
phone: +43 1 4277 76361
mail: clara.bader@univie.ac.at

Elisabeth Pinterich
Teaching Assistant

room: 3.015
phone: +43 1 4277 76361
mail: elisabeth.pinterich@univie.ac.at

Associated Collaborators

emer. o. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Friedrich Schaller

email: friedrich.schaller@univie.ac.at 
Mailing address: Rebenweg 1/14/3, A- 1170 Vienna, Austria

Susanne Affenzeller MSc
Morphometric Approaches to Species Delineation and Characterisation in the Trochid Genus Gibbula (Gastropoda).
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

phone: +43 1 4277 76343
mail: susanne.affenzeller@aon.at

Dr. Christian Beisser

room: 1.072
phone: +43 1 4277 76305
mail: christian.beisser@univie.ac.at

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Anita Gamauf
Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

phone: +43 1 52177 499
fax: +43 1 52177 364
mail: anita.gamauf@nhm-wien.ac.at

Natalie Gawin MSc
Myoanatomy of Pectinatella magnifica and Cristatella mucedo (Bryozoa, Phylactolaemata).
Researchgroup: Thomas Schwaha & Andreas Wanninger

mail: natalie.gawin@gmx.at

Dr. Martin Glösmann

mail: martin.gloesmann@vetmeduni.ac.at

 

Dr. Stephan Handschuh
VetCore Facility for Research
University of Veterinary Medicine Vienna

mail: Stephan.Handschuh@vetmeduni.ac.at

Dr. Adrienne Hilgers-Szántó

mail: adrienne.hilgers-szanto@univie.ac.at

Denise Ivenz
Schwebfliegengemeinschaften im Nationalpark Gesäuse.
Advisor: Harald Krenn

Yurii Kornilev, MSc
Determining feeding mechanics in the Balkan-Anatolian crested newt (Triturus ivanbureschi) through high-speed video.
Researchgroup: Patrick Lemell

room: 1.062
phone: +43 1 4277 76314
mail: yurii.kornilev@univie.ac.at

Dr. Anton Lamboj

room: 3.024
phone: +43 1 4277 76374
mail: anton.lamboj@univie.ac.at

Dr.  Patrick Lemell

room: 1.072
phone: +43 1 4277 76305
mail: patrick.lemell@univie.ac.at

Dr. Norbert Milasowszky

phone: +43 1 4277 76365  
mail: n
orbert.milasowszky@univie.ac.at

Dr. Nikolay Natchev

email: Natchev@gmx.at

 

Dr. Doris Preininger
Visual signaling in anurans.
Researchgroup: Walter Hödl

mail: doris.preininger@univie.ac.at

Hannah Schmidbaur MSc

MSc thesis:
The nervous system of Syllidae (Annelida: Phyllodocida)
Advisor: Gerhard Steiner

mail: hannah.schmidbaur@univie.ac.at

Mag. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Michael Seiter
Behavior, Functional Morphology, Systematics and Evolution of Pedipalpi (Amblypygi, Uropygi).
Life History, Taxonomy and Biogeography of Scorpiones.

mail: michael.seiter@univie.ac.at

Dr. Petra Sumasgutner
Percy FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology, DST-NRF Centre of Excellence
University of Cape Town

phone: +27-(0)21-650 3292
mail: petra.sumasgutner@univie.ac.at
http://www.bird.at/Turmfalken-in-Wien.288.0.html

Dr. Marc Sztatecsny

mail: marc.sztatecsny@univie.ac.at

Dr. Nikola Szucsich 
Naturhistorisches Museum Wien
ABOL Manager (www.abol.ac.at)

mail: nikolaus.szucsich@nhm-wien.ac.at

Priv.-Doz. Dr. habil. Frank Emmanuel Zachos
Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

phone: +43 1 52177 550
fax: +43 1 52177 234
mail: frank.zachos@nhm-wien.ac.at

Dr. Klaus Peter Zulka
Environment Agency Austria

phone: +43 1 31304 3391
mail: klaus.peter.zulka@univie.ac.at

Dr. Irene Zweimüller

phone: +43 1 4277 76360 
mail: irene.zweimueller@univie.ac.at

Department of
Integrative Zoology
University of Vienna
Althanstraße 14
A-1090 Vienna, Austria
University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0